Stepping into the picture

 

Stepping into the Picture is an ongoing project started a year ago.  I thought it had finished but I find I keep, unwittingly, stepping into pictures… My thanks go to the galleries that give permission for photographs to be taken and I hope the artists whose paintings I step into are happy for me to do so.

“When I am in front of a picture the thing I most want is to enter the picture’s world: it is the possibility of doing so that makes pictures worth looking at for me”
TJ Clarke, Sight of Death

“To paint is to bring inside – doubly: into the inhabited space around the image and into the frame. The paradox of painting is that it invites the spectator into its room to look at the world beyond”.

The Place of Painting by John Berger,
essay in The White Bird 

 

